Cotton Links

- USDA -

Universal Standards Committee Chosen

Agriculture Secretary Ed Schafer has announced the appointment of 24 members and 11 alternate members to the Advisory Committee on Universal Cotton Standards.

The Advisory Committee on Universal Cotton Standards was re-established by a charter issued on May 25, 2007.

Members of the Advisory Committee represent merchants, manufacturers, ginners and producers.

The members and alternates named recently will serve for the two-year period of the committee charter.

The Committee will review the Universal American Upland Cotton Standards and make recommendations to the Secretary of Agriculture concerning establishment and revision of Universal Cotton Standards.

The marketing of U.S. cotton is supported and enhanced through the Committee’s participation in the development of these standards. Foreign participation in the Universal Cotton Standards development program is a longstanding tradition, and the Committee provides for parallel participation by domestic and international cotton interests.

USDA’s Office of Communications provided information for this article. For more details, visit the agency’s Web site at www.usda.gov.

Universal Standards Committee Members & Alternates

Merchants: T. Jordan Lea, Greenville, S.C.; Bobby Walton, Memphis, Tenn; Manfred Schiefer, Lubbock, Texas; Craig R. Stevens, Fresno, Calif.; Frederick W. Barrier, Greenwood, Miss.; Lonnie D. Winters, Lubbock, Texas.

Manufacturers: William E. Bowen, Jr., Inman, S.C.; John B. Cleveland, II, Easley, S.C.; David T. Koon, Columbus, Ga.; Eugene C. Frye, Gastonia, N.C.; G. Michael Beeker, Sanford, N.C.; Billy R. Henderson, Williamston, S.C.

Ginners: Kirk D. Gilkey, Corcoran, Calif.; Chris W. Breedlove, Olton, Texas; W. Sledge Taylor, III, Como, Miss.; Van F. Murphy, Quitman, Ga.

Producers: C. Heath Watson, Mayesville, S.C.; David M. Dunlow, Gaston, N.C.; Thad R. Freeland, Tillar Ark.; Ben L. Lamensdorf, Cary, Miss.; Craig Shook, Corpus Christi, Texas; Jackie L. Burris, Wellman, Texas; Donald J. Cameron, Helm, Calif.; Diann D. Prechel Shearer, Coolidge, Ariz.

Merchant alternates: Claud A. Acker, Bakersfield, Calif.; Richard L. Clarke, Cordova, Tenn.; John D. Mitchell, Cordova, Tenn.

Manufacturer alternates: Trey Hodges, Columbus, Ga.; H. Malloy Evans, Sanford, N.C.

Ginner alternates: Charles C. Owen, Sr., Pima, Ariz.; Robert W. Greene, Courtland, Ala.

Producer alternates: R. Taylor Slade, Williamston, N.C.; William A. Guthrie, Jr., Newellton, La.; Robert D. Robbins, Altus, Okla.; Alisa Ogden, Loving, N.M.


Return To Top